Joe Burrow Wins Heisman

Joe Burrow Wins Heisman

With the 2019 College Football season coming to an end, the Heisman winner has finally been decided. This year’s finalists were Joe Burrow, Jalen Hurts, Justin Fields, and Chase Young. The race has been a close one all season, but at the very end of the season, eventual award winner, Joe Burrow, began to pull away. Burrow threw for ten touchdowns in his last three games combined and did not record a single interception during that stretch. 

Although there were many talented players in this year’s Heisman race, Burrow amassed a total of 841 first place votes to just twelve for runner-up Jalen Hurts. Third place winner, Justin Fields, pulled in six first place votes, while fourth place Chase Young totaled twenty. Burrow became the fourth straight quarterback to win the Heisman, and only the second player from LSU to receive the award. Burrow’s journey to Heisman winner was a long one, that is not seen often. Back in 2015, Burrow initially signed to Ohio State, in hopes to earn the school’s starting quarterback job. The quarterback was redshirted in the 2015 season and would serve as J.T. Barrett’s backup for the next two years. In 2018, Burrow decided to transfer, in hopes to go to a school that he would actually play at. With little to no experience at the Division 1 level, Ed Orgeron and LSU took a chance on the Ohio State graduate transfer. In his first year as a Tiger, Burrow threw for a little under 3,000 yards and 16 touchdowns. This year, Burrow has dramatically stepped up his game, totaling almost 5,000 yards in the air and 48 passing touchdowns. The LSU quarterback has put up these numbers in only 13 games, and he still has the College Football Playoffs remaining. 

With LSU’s high hopes to compete for a National Championship, it is certain that they will need their star quarterback to play to the best of his ability. Burrow and LSU will face Heisman runner-up Jalen Hurts and Oklahoma on December 28th in the CFB Playoff semifinals. The winner will advance to the National Championship and face the winner of the Ohio State and Clemson game. The National Championship is set for January 13 at Mercedes Benz Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana.


Culpepper, Chuck. “LSU Quarterback Joe Burrow Wins Heisman Trophy by Historic Voting Margin.” The Washington Post, WP Company, 16 Dec. 2019,

“Joe Burrow Stats, News, Bio.” ESPN, ESPN Internet Ventures,